BACK
Athlete

Athlete

Courtney Home

Triathlete

What is your full name? Courtney Kingsbury Home

How long have you been competing or partaking in your sport? I’ve been doing Triathlons for roughly 5 years and Ironmans for 4 years

Where do you call home? Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Favorite event or place to practice your sport? In Australia it would have to be Cairns Ironman and internationally it would be Kona, Hawaii.

What is your focus within your sport (what sub-discipline of your sport do you do most)? Why do you like that aspect the most? My current focus this year is the bike. I’d like to become a much stronger rider and that will only come with a lot of investment. My favourite discipline is definitely the run, the thought of running a marathon after 180ks on the bike gets me so excited.

What is the strangest thing that has happened to you while doing your sport? There are far too many strange things that have happened since I started training for Ironmans. I would say getting up at 2.30 to start training at 3am and enjoying it is a bit strange!

Do you have a local claim to fame (fittest, fastest, funniest, smelliest, etc.)? In crossfit workouts that are based on endurance, everyone wants to team up with me cause I always do all the running, rowing and bike parts of the WOD. So I would say my local claim to fame is being the crazy endurance athlete at Crossfit.

Do you promote an annual event or are you involved in a charitable cause? For the past couple of years I have worked closely with Personalised Plates QLD to raise awareness for the Breast Cancer Foundation and I also participate monthly in Donating Blood and Plasma for the Australian Red Cross service as both charities have helped my family and close friends through very tough times.

Notable recent results? Age Group Champ at Ironman Australia 2017, Qualified for Ironman Hawaii 2017, 2nd Ironman Western Australia 2017.

Anything else you would like to add about yourself or your sport? I grew up in Chicago, Illinois in the USA so when people meet me my accent throws them off. I have a twin brother who is 2 minutes younger than me. I come from a rowing family, 4 generations of my family row and I rowed at school, Loved it, but found triathlons and loved them more.